Our Team


  • Jason Adelman, MD, MS

    Executive Director/ Chief Patient Safety Officer

    Headshot of Jason Adelman.
  • Jo Applebaum, MPH

    Program Director

    Jo Applebaum, MPH is Program Director, Patient Safety Research at Columbia University Irving Medical Center/NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital. Jo oversees the Patient Safety Research Program’s portfolio of grant-funded and hospital-supported research projects, guiding the team on research design, methodology, and interpretation and dissemination of results. She has expertise in quantitative, qualitative, and mixed-methods approaches. Previously, Jo was Director of Research and Evaluation at Community Pediatric Programs, a federally qualified health center program affiliated with Montefiore Medical Center and Children’s Health Fund, where she led the development, implementation, and evaluation of the Center’s health initiatives. Jo received her MPH from the Mailman School of Public Health at Columbia University and BA from Johns Hopkins University.

    Headshot of Jo Applebaum, MPH.


  • Yelstin Fernandes, BS


    Headshot of Yelstin Fernandes, BS.
  • Chelsea Redman, MPH

    Program Coordinator

    Headshot of Chelsea Redman.
  • Patrick Robles, MPH

    Program Coordinator

    Headshot of Patrick Robles, MPH.

Patient Safety Research Fellows

  • Jerard Z. Kneifati-Hayek, MD

    (2018 – 2020)

    Dr. Kneifati-Hayek is the first Hospitalist Patient Safety Research Fellow. He graduated from Weill Cornell Medicine in 2014 and was a Howard Hughes Medical Institute research fellow. Dr. Kneifati-Hayek finished his residency in 2017 at New York Presbyterian-Weill Cornell Medicine. His interests include patient safety and quality, and health outcomes research.

    Headshot of Dr. Kneifati-Hayek.


Program Advisors

Columbia University Irving Medical Center
  • Graham Barr, MD, DrPH
  • George Hripcsak, MD, MS
  • Steven Shea, MD, MS
  • Melissa Stockwell, MD, MPH
NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital
  • Daniel Barchi, MSEM
  • Robert Green, MD
  • Wilhelmena Manzano, MA, RN
  • David Vawdrey, PhD
Harvard University
  • Hojjat Salmasian, MD, PhD
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
  • William Southern, MD, MS